Wednesday, 26 April 2017

Elena Reviews: The Otto Difference By Brent Hartinger

Title: The Otto Digmore Difference 

{The Otto Digmore Series #1}

Author: Brent Hartinger 

Publication Date: February 21st, 2017

Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, GLBT
“Road trip!” 

Otto Digmore is a 26-year-old gay guy with dreams of being a successful actor, and he’s finally getting some attention as a result of his supporting role on a struggling sitcom. But he’s also a burn survivor with scars on half his face, and all indications are that he’s just too different to ever find real Hollywood success. 

Now he’s up for an amazing new role that could change everything. Problem is, he and his best friend Russel Middlebrook have to drive all the way across the country in order to get to the audition on time. 

It’s hard to say which is worse: the fact that so many things go wrong, or that Russel, an aspiring screenwriter, keeps comparing their experiences to some kind of road trip movie. 

There’s also the fact that Otto and Russel were once boyfriends, and Otto is starting to realize that he still might have romantic feelings for his best friend. 

Just how far will Otto go to get the role, and maybe the guy, of his dreams? 

Author Brent Hartinger first introduced the character of Otto Digmore in 2005, in his Lambda Award-winning books about Russel Middlebrook. Back then, Otto was something pretty unusual for YA literature: a disabled gay character. 

Now, more than a decade later, Otto is grown up and finally stepping into the spotlight on his own. The Otto Digmore Difference, the first book in a new stand-alone series featuring Otto, is about much more than the challenges of being “different.” It’s also about the unexpected nature of all of life’s journeys, and the heavy price that must be paid for Hollywood fame. 

But more than anything, it’s a different kind of love story, about the frustrating and fantastic power of the love between two friends. 

Tuesday, 25 April 2017

Most Anticipated Book Releases - May 2017 Edition {Part 1}

Hello and welcome to May's most anticipated book releases! I hope you find this post helpful and discover new books coming our through it! It's going to be a two part post since, there are a lot of new releases I want to share with you and I couldn't include them all here.

Have you read any of the books mentioned already? Which new releases are you most excited for? Comment below telling me whether you'd be interested in reading any of these!

Monday, 24 April 2017

Book Blitz - How We Fall By Melissa Toppen & Giveaway

Title: How We Fall

Author: Melissa Toppen

Publication Date: April 21st, 2017

Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
It’s not always about how we fall- it’s about where we end up once we land.

I remember the very first time I laid eyes on Cole Lincoln. It still feels like yesterday when he stumbled into my life with his messy brown hair and dark eyes. Even though I was only ten years old at the time, I knew right then and there that he was going to change everything.

From that point on Cole and I were always together—inseparable—and I naively believed we’d be best friends forever. But forever didn’t last nearly as long as I expected.

We grew up and grew apart, life driving the distance between us, but my love for Cole never faltered. Even long after he moved away, leaving me and our little town behind, I still carried a piece of him with me every single day. Because Cole wasn’t just my childhood best friend- the boy who knew me better than anyone else in the whole world. He was also my first love- a part of my very core.

When a tragic death brings us face to face again after six years, every single memory comes rushing to the surface. Only this is not the boy I fell in love with all those years ago. The man before me is hardened, intimidating, and so damn sexy I practically melt when those dark eyes meet mine for the first time in six years.

And like the first time he walked into my life, I know with complete certainty that everything is about to change.

How We Fall is a STANDALONE Contemporary Romance.

Sunday, 23 April 2017

Book to Movie Adaptations: Are They Worth It? - Discuss & Wonder #6

Hello and welcome to another discussion post! It's been a while since my last one so, I would really like to apologize. I try to post them at least once a week but sometimes, I stall and I end up not posting at all. 

Anyway, for this week, I decided to talk about
Do you enjoy book to movie adaptations? Do you prefer reading the book before watching the film? Comment down below, letting me know whether you enjoyed the ones mentioned in this post or not and which book to movie adaptation you would recommend!

Wednesday, 19 April 2017

Elena Reviews: A Beautiful Sin By Terri E. Laine & A.M. Hargrove

Title: A Beautiful Sin

Author: Terri E. Laine & A.M. Hargrove

Publication Date: June 23rd, 2016

Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
*From USA Today Bestselling Authors, A.M. Hargrove and Terri E. Laine, comes a standalone, Forbidden Love Story. 

Since I was a boy, my desire was to marry the church. To give my vows and life over to God despite the corruption in my soul. 

I am a sinner, the embodiment of temptation, or so I’ve been told. 

Yet, I’ve never touched, never kissed, never sought the company of another until her. 
She is my weakness, my salvation, my downfall and my freedom. Our sins are bound tighter than fate. 

My name is Canaan. I am an ordained Roman Catholic priest, forever and always. 

Her name is Haven. She may be my destiny, my destruction. 

This is not a love story, but rather a confession of all my sins. 

*Warning – A Beautiful Sin is a forbidden romance that blurs the lines between passion and religious faith. Please be warned, the subject matter may be offensive to some readers. 

Monday, 17 April 2017

Book Blitz - Serenade By Heather McKenzie {Guest Post & Giveaway}

Title: Serenade

{The Nightmusic Trilogy #1}

Author: Heather McKenzie

Publication Date: April 17th, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Romance, Suspense
Kidnapped and held hostage in the Rockies, a teenage heiress falls for her abductor while her corrupt father and devoted bodyguard fight to get her back. The discovery of true love and dark family secrets turns deadly in this epic coming of age adventure.

Kaya Lowen dreams of living like a normal eighteen-year old, but being heiress to a billion-dollar company has put her life in constant danger. Fiercely guarded by her powerful and corrupt father, she develops close bonds with those who protect her, especially Oliver – a bodyguard who has proven his devotion to her time and again. He wins her heart – until a chance encounter with a mysterious stranger has her questioning everything she believes in. Haunted by true love and reeling from a guilty conscience, Kaya’s world unravels when she’s kidnapped.

Held captive in a rugged wilderness fraught with raging storms, mystical caves and deadly predators, Kaya’s father scours the forest and her bodyguard fights to get her back. But, the discovery of a dark family secret makes Kaya wonder if staying in the arms of her blue-eyed abductor—a captivating stranger with dark secrets of his own – is a safer place to be. At least, that’s what her heart is telling her, her head is saying run…

An epic adventure centered on a smoldering love-triangle, Serenade sings a timeless tale of courage, self-discovery, and life-or-death love that will leave you breathless.

Saturday, 15 April 2017

Stacking the Shelves - The *It's Been A While* Edition

Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga's Reviews, is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course, e-books.

Let me know in the comments if you've read any of these books and whether you enjoyed them or not. 

What books did you add to your shelves this week?